Since 2004, NJIT has celebrated student leaders with the Highlander Student Leadership Awards. The annual event recognizes students for their leadership commitment to student life in and outside of the classroom. NJIT is comprised of students who volunteer hours of their time and energy to enhance student life by serving in leadership positions within clubs and student organizations. The May 3 awards ceremony to honor these students was hosted by the Office of Campus Life and the Dean of Students Office and funded by the NJIT Student Senate. 

American Institute of Architecture Students at NJIT. Photo courtesy of The Vector.
The following are the winners for 2017:

Presidential Leadership Award (Graduate Student)
John Vito d'Antonio-Bertagnolli, Biomedical Engineering

Presidential Leadership Award (Undergraduate Student)
Michael Filippidis, Mechanical Engineering (major), Applied Mathematics (minor)

Lisa A. Pierce Rising Star Award
Samantha Cacdac, Mechanical Engineering (major), Applied Mathematics (minor)

Outstanding Student Staff Member
Samantha Cacdac, Mechanical Engineering (major), Applied Mathematics (minor)

Making a Difference Community Service Award
Abanoub Gerges-Ebaid, Mechanical Engineering Technology (major), Manufacturing Engineering Technology (minor)

Constance Murray Center for Women Outstanding Female Leadership Award
Urvya Iyer, Mathematical Sciences

Outstanding Student Leader Award
Stefani Kocevska, Chemical Engineering

Sorority Woman of the Year
Ashley Griffith (Alpha Sigma Tau)

Fraternity Man of the Year
Joseph Toumanios (Alpha Sigma Phi)

Advisor of the Year Award
Mark Arnowitz

New Student Organization of the Year
NJIT Splash

Organization of the Year
Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
American Institute of Architecture Students at NJIT (AIAS)

Outstanding Organization of the Year
Delta Epsilon Psi Fraternity