More than 200 alumni, faculty, staff, students and friends of NJIT's Newark College of Engineering (NCE) celebrated its continued commitment to engineering education advancement at the 19th annual Salute to Engineering Excellence March 9, 2017 at the Highlawn Pavilion in West Orange, N.J. Proceeds from the event will benefit the NCE Dean’s Fund.

“Newark College of Engineering is one of the oldest and largest professional engineering schools in the United States, and the alumni of NCE have long been pioneers in all disciplines of engineering,” said NJIT President Joel S. Bloom. “NCE regularly brings great distinction to our university, including two recent rankings of note. Our biomedical engineering program is now rated the #1 value in New Jersey and #8 nationally. In addition, NJIT is 15th in the nation in the number of graduating African-American engineers.”

The 2017 NCE Outstanding Alumnus Award was presented to Kevin G. Carswell ’79 and Rocco P. Palmieri, P.E., P.P., P.L.S. ’72, ’77. Carswell, of Fishkill, N.Y., is vice president of worldwide sales for Solid State Cooling Systems (SSCS), a small, growing technology company specializing in thermoelectric recirculating chillers for precise temperature control of high-speed lasers, analytical equipment, medical equipment, semiconductor processing systems and a variety of other scientific and industrial applications. During his 45-year career, Palmieri, of Barnegat, N.J., has worked in both the public and private sectors and is currently a senior project manager at Partner Engineering and Science, Inc.

Jerome F. Gallagher, Jr. Esq.’80, a partner in Norris, McLaughlin & Marcus, PA, received the NCE Spirit Award. As a member of Norris, McLaughlin & Marcus, PA and current co-chair of the firm’s Creditors and Debtor Rights Practice Group, Gallagher, of Randolph, N.J., engages in civil trial and appellate practice and concentrates in the areas of commercial banking, creditors’ rights, auto finance defense litigation, construction contract litigation and title insurance matters. Since 1999, he has been a member of the NCE Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Industry Advisory Board, and its chair since 2015. Additionally, Gallagher has established the Frank Gallagher Memorial Scholarship to benefit NJIT students, and has taken the lead in creating an Annual Scholarship Fund.

Each year, NCE recognizes an outstanding industry partner for their uniquely supportive relationship with NJIT. PSEG received the 2017 Outstanding Industry Partnership Award.

Stellar Students

Outstanding students from every department of NCE were among the stellar performers honored at an awards ceremony. Brody Frees, Joseph Geise and Thomas Reardon, students in the Otto H. York Department of Chemical, Biological and Pharmaceutical Engineering, received the Saul K. Fenster Innovation in Design Award for their leadership of the Chem-E Car Team, which designed, fabricated and built a unique auto system for entry into the American Institute of Chemical Engineers’ annual competition. The Helen & John C. Hartmann Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering’s Xueqing Huang, who has published 17 papers thus far in premium journals and conferences, was recognized with the NCE Outstanding Graduate Student Award for her many accomplishments. Mina Taheri ’16, whose dissertation work is focused on greening the broadband access networks and who is currently working as a senior software engineer in a high-tech industry company, Advanced Rotorcraft Technology in Silicon Valley, will be acknowledged with the NCE Outstanding Doctoral Student Dissertation Award for her excellence in both teaching and research in the Helen and John C. Hartmann Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Other students receiving recognition include Andrea Cano, who was named the recipient of the  Madame Mau Outstanding Female Engineering Student Award and Outstanding Senior from the John A. Reif, Jr. Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Sahitya Allam, who was named Outstanding Senior Overall and Outstanding Senior in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, along with Christopher P. Donovan from the Department of Engineering Technology; Stefani Kocevska from the Otto H. York Department of Chemical, Biological and Pharmaceutical Engineering; Andrew Pennock from the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering; and Shahar Sarfati from the Helen and John C. Hartmann Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.