There was standing room only as industry guests, alumni, students, faculty and staff packed Weston Hall at the College of Architecture and Design’s (CoAD) 11th Annual Design Showcase to network, reminisce and appreciate the talent of NJIT students.

Alumnus J. Kenneth Modrow ’08, AIA, LEED AP at Gensler, explains, “The work presented by NJIT students is simply inspiring. The quality of their projects is at the professional level. It is very impressive.” 

Alumnus Ken Modrow '08 and Provost Fadi Deek catching up and enjoying the evening.
The Design Showcase offers NJIT alumni the opportunity to meet the next generation of talent and network with their peers. For NJIT students, it’s a chance to interact with successful alumni who can act as mentors, role models and potential employers.

The event was co-chaired by Mark Parette ’83, principal at Parette Somjen Architects and Chuck Dietz ’83, managing partner at The Dietz Partnership.

Parette, whose firm is in the process of renovating NJIT’s Faculty Memorial Hall, adds, “The Design Showcase is a special event where the architect and design community come together to support CoAD and its students. It’s a team effort to make this a successful evening, and we have gotten better results every year through our strategic outreach.”

In addition to the student exhibition and reception, guest speakers Hilary Sample and Michael Meredith from MOS Architects discussed their approach to architecture, which demonstrated their company’s unequivocal uniqueness. Attendees filled the lecture hall to hear Sample and Meredith talk about how they “reject the ordinary.”

President Joel Bloom attended the event, describing CoAD as “a critical component of NJIT because design cuts across all disciplines, revealing the brilliance of architect and design students and faculty.”

Seniors Tesneem Elabed (left) and Randa Aji display their creativity through their interior designs.

The night would not have been complete without naming the winners of the student competition:

Ariana Milla - Interior Design

Nate Soto - Digital Design

Nicholas Warholak - Industrial Design

Stephanie Tran - Architecture

Monika Appelhans -  Architecture Grad